The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board monitors and gives advice on the association’s long-term development and assists the Board of Trustees in fulfilling its functions in accordance with the recommendations issued by the Leibniz-Gemeinschaft senate. It is elected by the Board of Trustees.

The Scientific Advisory Board's internal rules of procedure (52 KB)

Prof. Dr. Josef Brüderl

Ludwig-Maximilians-University München
Institute for Sociology
Konradstr. 6
80801 München

Phone: 0049 (0)89-2180 6416
E-Mail: josef.bruederl(at)soziologie.uni-muenchen(dot)de

Prof. Dr. Christa Womser-Hacker
Vice Chairman
Stiftung Universität Hildesheim
Institut für Informationswissenschaft und Sprachtechnologie
Universitätsplatz 1
31141 Hildesheim
Phone: 0049 (0)521-883833
E-Mail: womser(at)uni-hildesheim(dot)de

Prof. Dr. Eldad Davidov

University of Cologne
Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences
Sociology and Social Psychology
50923 Cologne 

Phone: 0049 (0)221-470 3614
E-Mail: e.davidov(at)uni-koeln(dot)de

Prof. em. Dr. Peter FaragoRetired Director, FORS
c/o Université de Lausanne
Bâtiment Géopolis, 5th Floor
CH-1015 Lausanne
E-Mail: peter.farago(at)fors.unil(dot)ch 

Prof. Jessica Fortin-Rittberger, PhD

University Salzburg
Political Science and Sociology
Department of Political Science
Rudolfskai 42
A-5020 Salzburg, Austria

Phone: 0043 (0)662-8044 6609
Fax: 0043 (0)662-8044 166
E-Mail: jessica.fortin-rittberger(at)


Prof. Dr. Michael GranitzerUniversity Passau
Faculty of Computer Science and Mathematics
Chair of Data Science
Innstr. 33a
94032 Passau

Phone: 0049 (0)851-509 3305
Fax: 0049 (0)851-509 3308
E-Mail: michael.granitzer(at)uni-passau(dot)de

Prof. Dr. Annette JäckleInstitute for Social and Economic Research (ISER)
University of Essex
Wivenhoe Park
Essex, CO4 3SQ UK
Phone: 0044 (0)1206-873896
E-Mail: aejack(at)

Dr. Lilli Japec

Statistics Sweden
P.O. Box 24300
10451 Stockholm, Sweden

Phone: 0046 (0)10-479 4000
E-Mail: lilli.japec(at)scb(dot)se
Prof. Kristina Lerman, Ph.D.USC Information Sciences Institute
4676 Admiralty Way
Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6611
Phone: 001 310-448 8714
E-Mail: lerman(at)isi(dot)edu
Prof. Dr. Jürgen PfefferHochschule für Politik München an der Technischen Universität München
Professur für Computational Social Science and Big Data
Richard-Wagner-Str. 1
80333 München

Phone: 0049 (0)89-907793 200
E-Mail: juergen.pfeffer(at)hfp.tum(dot)de


Prof. Dr. Marc Rittberger

Deputy Executive Director German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)
Schloßstraße 29
60486 Frankfurt/Main

Phone: 0049 (0)69-2470 8327
Fax: 0049 (0)69-2470 8444
E-Mail: rittberger(at)dipf(dot)de

Dr. Annette ScherpenzeelSHARE - Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe
Munich Center for the Economics of Aging (MEA)
Max Planck Institute for Social Law and Social Policy
Amalienstr. 33
80799 München

Phone: 0049 (0)89-38602 311
E-Mail: scherpenzeel(at)mea.mpisoc.mpg(dot)de