GESIS Survey Guidelines - Expert Knowledge for Your Survey Projects

The GESIS Survey Guidelines are part of a central service offered by GESIS to advise researchers on methodological questions regarding the planning and implementation of surveys. The articles in the Survey Guidelines provide a practice-oriented overview and initial recommendations for action on relevant aspects of survey planning and implementation that are frequently requested in consulting. The guidelines can be divided into four different areas: Recommendations and assistance on the survey process (“Survey Operations”), on the development of survey instruments (“Survey Instruments”), on survey statistics (“Survey Statistics”) and recommendations including checklists on the topic of open methodology (“Survey Documentation”).

GESIS Survey Guidelines by Topic

Survey Operations

GESIS Survey Guidelines on the subjects of survey modes, survey and fieldwork, interviewer effects, tendering and documentation, panel studies, paradata and data linkage as well as intercultural surveys.

Learn more

Survey Instruments

GESIS Survey Guidelines on the subjects of questionnaire construction, survey instruments, socio-demographic characteristics and quality assurance of survey instruments.

Learn more

Survey Documentation

GESIS Survey Guidelines on the documentation of survey instruments and the documentation of fieldwork.

Learn more

Survey Statistics

GESIS Survey Guidelines on the topics of sampling in theory and practice, weighting, non-response bias and the imputation of survey data.

Learn more

Survey Evidence Map

A comprehensive overview of the current state of survey research - with links to publications, data and meta-analyses.

Learn more

GESIS Survey Guidelines A - Z

Here you will find an overview of all GESIS Survey Guidelines.

Survey Guidelines von A - Z

About the GESIS Survey Guidelines

The GESIS Survey Guidelines undergo a non-blinded peer review with at least two internal or external GESIS reviewers before publication. This makes them suitable for teaching purposes. In addition, many of the guidelines are supplemented by additional materials such as slide sets, analysis codes, etc. 

Please note: The GESIS Survey Guidelines and additional materials are subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC). Their content can therefore be distributed and made public for non-commercial purposes with attribution to the authors/publisher. The recommended citation method can be found in the respective articles.

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Henning Silber

Associate Editors: Dr. Jessica Daikeler, Dr. Cornelia Neuert, Dr. Barbara Felderer

Editorial Assistant: Fabienne Kraemer

Founding Editor: Prof. Dr. Natalja Menold

Planning and conducting surveys:

Research Ethics and Data Protection:

GESIS Survey Guidelines - Expertenwissen für Ihre Umfrageprojekte

Die GESIS Survey Guidelines sind Bestandteil eines zentralen Angebots von GESIS zur Beratung von Wissenschaftler*innen bei methodischen Fragen zur Planung und Durchführung von Umfragen. Die Beiträge der Survey Guidelines bieten einen praxisorientierten Überblick sowie erste Handlungsempfehlungen zu relevanten und in der Beratung häufig nachgefragten Aspekten der Umfrageplanung und -durchführung. Thematisch lassen sich die Guidelines in vier verschiedene Bereiche untergliedern: Empfehlungen und Hilfestellungen zum Erhebungsprozess („Survey Operations“), zur Entwicklung von Erhebungsinstrumenten („Survey Instruments“), zu Umfragestatistik („Survey Statistics“) sowie Empfehlungen inklusive Checklisten zum Thema Open Methodology („Survey Documentation“). 

GESIS Survey Guidelines im Überblick

Survey Operations

GESIS Survey Guidelines zu den Themenbereichen Erhebungsmodi, Erhebung und Feldarbeit, Interviewer-Effekte, Ausschreibung und Dokumentation, Panelstudien, Paradaten und Datenverknüpfung sowie interkulturelle Umfragen.

Mehr erfahren

Survey Instruments

GESIS Survey Guidelines zu den Themenbereichen Fragebogenkonstruktion, Erhebungsinstrumente, Soziodemografische Merkmale sowie zur Qualitätssicherung von Erhebungsinstrumenten.

Mehr erfahren

Survey Documentation

GESIS Survey Guidelines zu den Themenbereichen Dokumentation von Umfrageinstrumenten sowie zur Dokumentation der Feldarbeit.

Mehr erfahren

Survey Statistics

GESIS Survey Guidelines zu den Themenbereichen Stichproben in Theorie und Praxis, Gewichtung, Nonresponse Bias sowie zur Imputation von Surveydaten.

Mehr erfahren

Survey Evidence Map

Ein umfassender Überblick über den aktuellen Stand der Umfrageforschung - mit Links zu Publikationen, Daten und Meta-Analysen.

Mehr erfahren

GESIS Survey Guidelines von A - Z

Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über alle GESIS Survey Guidelines.

Survey Guidelines von A - Z

Über die GESIS Survey Guidelines

Die Survey Guidelines durchlaufen vor Veröffentlichung ein non-blinded Peer-Review mit mindestens zwei GESIS-internen oder externen Reviewer*innen. Dadurch sind sie auch für die Lehre geeignet. Zusätzlich werden viele der Guidelines durch Zusatzmaterialien wie etwa Foliensätze, Analysecodes etc. ergänzt.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die GESIS Survey Guidelines und Zusatzmaterialien unterliegen einer Creative Commons Namensnennung - Nicht kommerziell 4.0 International Lizenz (CC BY-NC). Ihr Inhalt kann somit unter Nennung von Autor*innen/ des Herausgebers zu nicht-kommerziellen Zwecken verbreitet und öffentlich gemacht werden. Die empfohlene Zitierweise finden Sie in den jeweiligen Beiträgen.

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Henning Silber

Associate Editors: Dr. Jessica Daikeler, Dr. Cornelia Neuert, Dr. Barbara Felderer

Editorial Assistant: Fabienne Kraemer

Founding Editor: Prof. Dr. Natalja Menold

Umfrageplanung und -durchführung:

Forschungsethik und Datenschutz:

Ihre Ansprechpersonen