Kurzskalen psychologischer Merkmale

Short scales for assessing psychological characteristics

Social-scientific research is more and more in need of measurement instruments to assess psychological attributes. Among them are basic personality traits, willingness to taks risks, values, life satisfaction, attractiveness, optimism, or intelligence. Apart from psychological studies, these attributes are assessed in the health sciences, economics, and engineering with increasing frequency. Integrating these attributes into their models, scientists from various backgrounds rightfully expect a better description of scientific phenomena of all kinds as well as better predictive models for relevant social processes.

GESIS services support social-scientific research by developing and disseminating empirically tested, standardized assessment instruments of high quality. The development of short scales, which allow an economic and efficient assessment of attributes, is one specific goal. Until recently, there were no such instruments for the assessment of psychological attributes that would have been accepted across disciplines.

As a remedy, and in line with the aims of a third-party funded research project, we developed appropriate assessment tools for specific psychological characteristics. These instruments, their development, and their validation process are documented here and available for download by potential future users. Utilizing them in the field will strengthen the intersections between disciplines, while at the same time the comparability between scientific studies will increase. This is likely to improve both monitoring and predicting socially and scientifically relevant processes and phenomena. User-friendly access to all the instruments and their quality criteria is facilitated through the scale repository "CIS" – the Collection of Items and Scales for the Social Sciences.

It was the goal of a third-party funded project to develop short scales for psychological variables. We continually develop additional short scales as part of GESIS's general scale development processes. Please do not hesitate to inquire whether we currently develop short scales on a specific topic. In addition, and as part of our demand-oriented services on scale development, we invite you to contribute to our efforts to develop short scales, for instance, by sharing your ideas on future instruments with us.

Below we present project-specific short scales for measuring psychological attributes. They were developed and validated in a series of studies. You will find all relevant materials in CIS (see also the direct links to the scale documentations provided in Table 1). More detailed information on the development and psychometric quality of the short scales are also available from the GESIS working-papers. All project-specific publications, including journal articles, can be found in our overview of publications overview of publications.

Table 1: Newly Created Short Scales
ScaleNameRubricAuthor
KSA-3AuthoritarianismPersonalityBeierlein, Asbrock, Kauff & Schmidt
R-1Willingness to take risks
PersonalityBeierlein, Kovaleva, Kemper& Rammstedt
L-1General Life Satisfaction
PersonalityBeierlein, Kovaleva, László, Kemper & Rammstedt
NFC-KNeed for CognitionPersonalityBeißert, Köhler, Rempel & Beierlein
I-8Impulsive-Behavior-8PersonalityKovaleva, Beierlein, Kemper & Rammstedt
KUSIV3Interpersonal TrustPersonalityBeierlein, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
IE-4Internal-External Locus of ControlPersonalityKovaleva, Beierlein, Kemper & Rammstedt
SOP2Optimism-Pessimism-2PersonalityKemper, Beierlein, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
BFI-10Big Five Inventory (10-item scale)PersonalityRammstedt, Kemper, Klein, Beierlein & Kovaleva
PEKSPolitical EfficacyPolitical Attitudes and BehaviorBeierlein, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
ASKUGeneralized Self-Efficacy  PersonalityBeierlein, Kovaleva, Kemper & Rammstedt
KSE-GSocial Desirability-GammaPersonalityKemper, Beierlein, Bensch, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
USS-8Justice Sensibility-ScalesSocial ProblemsBeierlein, Baumert, Schmitt, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
AR-1Attraktiveness-RatingPersonalityKemper, Lutz, Margraf-Stiksrud, Beierlein, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
BEFKI GC-KCrystallized Intelligence PersonalitySchipolowski, Wilhelm, Schroeders, Kovaleva, Kemper & Rammstedt

Project-related short scales for measuring psychological characteristics were developed and validated in a series of studies. Three samples were drawn, building the foundation for the construction of scales and their empirical evaluation by means of test quality criteria. Details – also for smaller "ad-hoc samples" – can be found in the respective working papers.

All data were collected by independent commercial providers. All scale documentations include, besides the validated instrument itself, comprehensive socio-demographic background information and further psychological and social-scientific measures for scale validation:

  • Items for socio-demographic information were mainly taken from the demographic standards of the German Federal Statistical Office ("Statistisches Bundesamt", 2010).
  • For validation purposes, we employed standard instrumentsto capture, for instance, life satisfaction (SWLS, Diener, Emmons, Larsen & Griffin, 1985; only in sample 1), locus of control (Jakoby & Jacob, 1999; only in sample 1), optimism (LOT-R, Glaesmer, Hoyer, Klotsche & Herzberg, 2008; only in sample 1), the main dimensions of personality according to the five-factor-model (BFI-10, Rammstedt & John, 2007), self-esteem (Rosenberg, 1989; only in sample 2), impulsivity (UPPS, Kämpfe & Mitte, 2009; only in sample 2), general self-efficacy expectation (Schwarzer & Jerusalem, 1999; only in sample 1), as well as our instruments.
  • Of social-scientific relevance were the following measures, which we collected: network size, job strain at the workplace and Effort-Reward-Imbalance (Siegrist et al., 2004), general health, political party preference, income, assets, and deviance.

The quality of the constructed scales – especially reliability and validity criteria – were evaluated on the basis of three samples. The procedure is inspired by the conventional procedure for the validation of personality scales in psychological research (for details see Bühner, 2011; Lienert & Raatz, 1998).

To top

Kurzskalen psychologischer Merkmale

  • Sie sind hier:
  • Home

Constanze Beierlein

Survey Design and Methodology Fragebogendesign & -evaluation

+49 (621) 1246-253
E-Mail
vCard

Beatrice Rammstedt

Survey Design and Methodology Abteilungsleiter

+49 (621) 1246-155
E-Mail
vCard

Kurzskalen für die Messung psychologischer Merkmale

Sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung benötigt immer häufiger Zugriff auf Erhebungsinstrumente zur Erfassung von psychologischen Merkmalen. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise Persönlichkeit, Risikobereitschaft, Werte, Lebenszufriedenheit, Attraktivität, Optimismus oder Intelligenz. Psychologische Merkmale werden außer in psychologischen Studien auch zunehmend in den Gesundheitswissenschaften, Wirtschaftwissenschaften und Ingenieurswissenschaften erhoben. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher verschiedener Disziplinen erwarten von der Berücksichtigung dieser Merkmale in ihren Modellen bessere Deskription wissenschaftlicher Phänomene sowie Prädiktion gesellschaftlich relevanter Prozesse.

Die Beratungs- und Serviceleistungen von GESIS für die Sozialwissenschaften umfassen die Entwicklung und Verbreitung empirisch geprüfter, qualitativ hochwertiger, standardisierter Erhebungsinstrumente. Hierzu zählen die Entwicklung von Kurzskalen, die eine ökonomische und effiziente Messung erlauben. Bis vor kurzem lagen für die Erfassung psychologischer Merkmale, die für die sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung relevant sind, noch keine disziplinübergreifend akzeptierten Instrumente vor.

Zur Abhilfe wurden im Rahmen eines Drittmittelprojektes angemessene Erhebungsinstrumente für bestimmte psychologische Merkmale entwickelt, validiert und potentiellen Nutzern hier zur Verfügung gestellt. Durch den vermehrten Einsatz dieser Erhebungsinstrumente wird eine erhöhte Anschlussfähigkeit und Vergleichbarkeit zwischen Untersuchungen und eine verbesserte Deskription und Prädiktion wissenschaftlich und gesellschaftlich relevanter Prozesse und Phänomene angestrebt. Ein benutzerfreundlicher Zugriff auf die Instrumente und deren Kennwerte ist über ZIS möglich - die Zusammenstellung sozialwissenschaftlicher Items und Skalen.

Kurzskalen: Entwicklung und Dokumentation

Die Entwicklung von Kurzskalen für psychologische Merkmale war Ziel eines Drittmittelprojektes. Die Arbeit an der Entwicklung weiterer Kurzskalen wird im Rahmen der GESIS Instrumentenentwicklung kontinuierlich fortgesetzt. Sie können gerne gezielt nachfragen, ob Kurzskalen zu einem bestimmten Thema aktuell bei GESIS entwickelt werden. Alternativ können Sie im Rahmen bedarfsorientierter Instrumentenentwicklung gezielt die Entwicklung bestimmter Kurzskalen anregen.

Hier stellen wir interessierten Forscherinnen und Forschern die projektbezogenen Kurzskalen zur Erfassung psychologischer Merkmale vor. Diese wurden im Rahmen einer Serie von Studien entwickelt und validiert. Alle für die Anwendung notwendigen Materialien finden sich in ZIS (siehe direkte Verlinkung in Tabelle 1). Detaillierte Informationen zur Entwicklung und Qualität der Kurzskalen sind auch als GESIS Working-Papers erhältlich. Sämtliche projektrelevante Publikationen inklusive Beiträge zur Fachzeitschriften finden Sie in unserer Publikationsübersicht.

Tabelle 1: Entwickelte Kurzskalen
SkalaNameRubrikAutor
KSA-3Kurzskala AutoritarismusIndividuum & PersönlichkeitBeierlein, Asbrock, Kauff & Schmidt
R-1Kurzkala RisikobereitschaftIndividuum & PersönlichkeitBeierlein, Kovaleva, Kemper& Rammstedt
L-1Kurzskala Allgemeine LebenszufriedenheitIndividuum & PersönlichkeitBeierlein, Kovaleva, László, Kemper & Rammstedt
NFC-KNeed for Cognition KurzskalaIndividuum & PersönlichkeitBeißert, Köhler, Rempel & Beierlein
I-8Skala Impulsives-Verhalten-8Individuum & PersönlichkeitKovaleva, Beierlein, Kemper & Rammstedt
KUSIV3Kurzskala Interpersonales VertrauenIndividuum & PersönlichkeitBeierlein, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
IE-4Internale-Externale Kontrollüberzeugung Individuum & PersönlichkeitKovaleva, Beierlein, Kemper & Rammstedt
SOP2Skala Optimismus-Pessimismus-2Individuum & PersönlichkeitKemper, Beierlein, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
BFI-10Big Five Inventory (Kurzskala Persönlichkeit)Individuum & PersönlichkeitRammstedt, Kemper, Klein, Beierlein & Kovaleva
PEKSPolitical Efficacy KurzskalaPolitische Einstellungen und VerhaltenBeierlein, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
ASKUAllgemeine Selbstwirksamkeit Kurzskala Individuum & PersönlichkeitBeierlein, Kovaleva, Kemper & Rammstedt
KSE-GKurzskala Soziale Erwünschtheit-GammaIndividuum & PersönlichkeitKemper, Beierlein, Bensch, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
USS-8Ungerechtigkeitssensibilität-SkalenSoziale ProblemeBeierlein, Baumert, Schmitt, Kemper, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
AR-1AttraktivitätsratingIndividuum & PersönlichkeitKemper, Lutz, Margraf-Stiksrud, Beierlein, Kovaleva & Rammstedt
BEFKI GC-KKurzskala kristalline Intelligenz Individuum & PersönlichkeitSchipolowski, Wilhelm, Schroeders, Kovaleva, Kemper & Rammstedt

 

 

Informationen zum Drittmittelprojekt

Die projektbezogenen Kurzskalen zur Erfassung psychologischer Merkmale wurden im Rahmen einer Serie von Studien entwickelt und validiert. Drei Stichproben bilden die wesentliche Grundlage für die Konstruktion und empirische Prüfung der Skalengüte. Aus Tabelle 2 können die wesentlichen Charakteristika der Stichproben entnommen werden (Details - auch zu kleineren „anfallenden Stichproben“ - finden sich in den jeweiligen Working-Papers).

Tabelle 2: Charakteristika der drei Stichproben


Stichprobe 1
Welle 1
Stichprobe 1
Welle 2
Stichprobe 2Stichprobe 3
Stichprobe

Umfang [N]

5393387411134
ArtQuoteQuoteQuoteZufall
ModusCAPI, PapierCAPI, PapierCAWICAPI
Zusammensetzung
Geschlecht [% Frauen]52.552.151.855.6
Alter [M (SD)]47.2 (15.2)46.7 (15.1)48.3 (13.0)53.3 (18.4)
Bildung  ≤ 9 Jahre44.745.340.137.2
                10 Jahre30.227.929.137.0
                 ≥ 11 Jahre23.725.430.825.8

Anmerkung: CAP = Computer Aided Personal Interview, CAWI = Computer Aided Web Interview, Papier = Papierversion (Selbstausfüller)

Alle Erhebungen wurden von unabhängigen kommerziellen Anbietern durchgeführt. Die Studien beinhalteten neben der jeweils zu validierenden Kurzskala umfangreiche soziodemographische Angaben und weitere psychologische und sozialwissenschaftliche Validierungsmaße:

  • Die Items zu soziodemographischen Angaben wurden größtenteils den demographischen Standards des Statistischen Bundesamtes (2010) entnommen.
  • Für die Validierung kamen Standardinstrumente, z.B. zur Erfassung von Lebenszufriedenheit (SWLS, Diener, Emmons, Larsen & Griffin, 1985; nur in Stichprobe 1), Kontrollüberzeugungen (Jakoby & Jacob, 1999; nur in Stichprobe 1), Optimismus (LOT-R, Glaesmer, Hoyer, Klotsche & Herzberg, 2008; nur in Stichprobe 1), den Hauptdimensionen der Persönlichkeit nach dem Fünf-Faktoren-Modell (BFI-10, Rammstedt & John, 2007), Selbstwert (Rosenberg, 1989; nur in Stichprobe 2), Impulsivität (UPPS, Kämpfe & Mitte, 2009; nur in Stichprobe 2), allgemeine Selbstwirksamkeitserwartung (Schwarzer & Jerusalem, 1999; nur in Stichprobe 1) und unsere entwickelten Kurzskalen zum Einsatz.
  • An für die sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung relevanten Maßen wurde unter anderem Netzwerkgröße, Belastungen am Arbeitsplatz und Effort-Reward-Imbalance (Siegrist et al., 2004), Gesundheitszustand, Parteipräferenz, Einkommen, Wertanlagen und Devianz erhoben.

Die Qualität der konstruierten Kurzskalen - insbesondere Kennwerte für Reliabilität und Aspekte der Validität - wurde auf Basis der Stichproben überprüft. Das Vorgehen orientierte sich an dem in der psychologischen Forschung üblichen Vorgehen bei der Validierung von Persönlichkeitsskalen (für Details siehe Bühner, 2011; Lienert & Raatz, 1998).

Nach oben