Metadata for Official Statistics

First steps in the data analysis

These instructions for the preparation of microcensus scientific use files is addressed to interested “newcomers”. By means of a number of questions, attention is drawn to points that are central to the data analysis and are, in part, microcensus-specific.

Although the compilation is not exhaustive, it draws attention to issues that are of importance when working with the microcensus scientific use files.

  1. What is the population of interest?
    In the case of the microcensus, it must be borne in mind that both persons in private households and persons in non-institutional and institutional collective dwellings are surveyed. Non-institutional and institutional collective dwellings can be student halls, hospitals, or prisons. [Population: private households] Moreover, the microcensus is an area sample, which may lead to people being surveyed twice, namely at their principal and their secondary place of residence. [Population: Principal and secondary place of residence] Depending on the question, it may be appropriate to restrict the population to persons at their family residence. [Population: family residence]
  2. Should weighting be applied?
    In the case of the microcensuses prior to 1989, it is necessary to consider how duplicated persons or households in the data set should be handled. [Adjustment duplication/deletion]
  3. How should Überhänge (i.e., households who should have been interviewed in the previous year but who were not interviewed until the following year using the previous year’s questionnaire) be handled?
    In the case of the microcensuses from 2006 onwards, it is necessary to consider how Überhänge from the previous year should be handled. Such Überhänge arise as a result of the changeover to quarterly surveys in 2005. Respondents who cannot be reached in the selected quarter (usually the last quarter) are sometimes interviewed in the first quarter of the following year. As a result of this delay in conducting the interview, it can happen that households are surveyed twice in one year [Jahresüberhang from the previous year]..

Metadata for Official Statistics

Erste Schritte bei der Datenauswertung

Diese Anleitung zur Aufbereitung von Mikrozensus Scientific Use Files richtet sich an interessierte "Neueinsteiger". Anhand einiger Fragen wird hier auf Punkte aufmerksam gemacht, die bei der Datenanalyse zentral und z.T. Mikrozensus-spezifisch sind.

Die Zusammenstellung erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, weist jedoch auf Sachverhalte hin, die bei der Arbeit mit den Mikrozensus Scientific Use Files wichtig sind.

  1. Was ist die interessierende Population?
    Hier ist beim Mikrozensus zu berücksichtigen, dass sowohl Personen aus Privathaushalten als auch Personen aus Gemeinschafts- und Anstaltsunterküften befragt werden. Bei den Gemeinschafts- und Anstaltsunterkünften kann es sich z.B. um Studentenwohnheime, Krankenhäuser oder Gefängnisse handeln. [Bevölkerung: Privathaushalte] Zudem ist der Mikrozensus eine Flächenstichprobe, was zur Folge haben kann, dass Personen doppelt befragt werden, nämlich am Haupt- und am Nebenwohnsitz. [Bevölkerung: Haupt- oder Nebenwohnsitz] Je nach Fragestellung kann auch die Eingrenzung auf Personen am Familienwohnsitz sinnvoll sein. [Bevölkerung: Familienwohnsitz]
  2. Soll gewichtet werden?
    Bei den Mikrozensen vor 1989 muss zudem überlegt werden, wie mit den gedoppelten Personen oder Haushalten im Datensatz umzugehen ist. [Anpassung Dopplung/Streichung]
  3. Wie ist mit Überhängen umzugehen?
    Bei den Mikrozensen ab 2006 ist zu überlegen, wie mit Überhängen aus dem Vorjahr umzugehen ist. Solche Überhänge entstehen durch die seit 2005 bestehende Quartalsbefragung. Befragte, die in dem ausgewählten Quartal (meist dem letzten Quartal) nicht angetroffen werden, werden mitunter erst im ersten Quartal des Folgejahres befragt. Infolge dieser Befragungsverzögerung kann es passieren, dass Haushalte in einem Jahr zweimal befragt werden [Jahresüberhang aus dem Vorjahr].