Zur Missy-Homepage

Metadata for Official Statistics

ESeG

ESeG – European Socioeconomic Groups

European Socio-economic Groups (ESeG) is a classification for the structured grouping of the economic, social and cultural characteristics of persons within the European Union. The aim is to classify the various characteristics in a uniform way and thus make them comparable within the EU. ESeG is based on the European Socio-economic Classification (ESeC) and extends it. ESeG can essentially be formed from the International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO-08) and the employment status (employed or self-employed). In detail, depending on the data, additional variables are required.
The GESIS paper implements and explains the 2016 updated version of ESeG for the Microcensus (MC) Scientific Use File (SUF) (only in German).
The syntax is available for the statistical software SPSS and Stata and contains the code to implement ESeG in the MC SUF. They are tested and executable for all published MC SUFs from 2012 onwards, as the required ISCO-08 was been implemented from that date.

  • Börlin, Simon & Lukas Zettl (2020): Mikrozensus Tools: Die Klassifikation European Socio-economic Groups (ESeG) im Mikrozensus Scientific Use File (GESIS Papers, 2020/08). Köln: GESIS - Leibniz-Institut für Sozialwissenschaften. [.pdf].

Download of the Syntax

Please note:

The setups should be downloaded and used with statistics programs. The browser view provides only an overview. Characters with an Umlaut and line breaks are sometimes displayed incorrectly.

SPSS Stata
Microcensus 2012 - 2016 [.sps] [.do]

Zur Missy-Homepage

Metadata for Official Statistics

ESeG

ESeG – European Socioeconomic Groups

European Socio-economic Groups (ESeG) ist eine Klassifikation zur strukturierten Bündelung der wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Charakteristika von Personen innerhalb der Europäischen Union. Ziel ist es die verschiedenen Merkmale einheitlich zu klassifizieren und somit innerhalb der EU vergleichbar zu machen. ESeG basiert auf der European Socio-economic Classification (ESeC) und erweitert diese. ESeG kann im Wesentlichen aus der internationalen Standardklassifikation der Berufe (ISCO-08) und dem Beschäftigungsstatus (angestellt oder selbständig) gebildet werden. Im Detail sind je nach Datenlage noch weitere Variablen nötig.
Im GESIS Paper wird die 2016 aktualisierte Version von ESeG für den Mikrozensus (MZ) Scientific Use File (SUF) umgesetzt und erläutert.
Die Syntaxen sind für die Statistikprogramme SPSS und Stata abrufbar und enthalten den Code, um ESeG im MZ SUF zu implementieren. Sie sind für alle veröffentlichten MZ SUFs ab 2012 getestet und ablauffähig, da ab 2012 die benötigte ISCO-08 umgesetzt wurde.

  • Börlin, Simon & Lukas Zettl (2020): Mikrozensus Tools: Die Klassifikation European Socio-economic Groups (ESeG) im Mikrozensus Scientific Use File (GESIS Papers, 2020/08). Köln: GESIS - Leibniz-Institut für Sozialwissenschaften. [.pdf].

Download der Syntax

Hinweis:

Die Setups sollten heruntergeladen und mit Statistikprogrammen weiterverwendet werden. Die Browseransicht dient lediglich der Übersicht. Umlaute und Zeilenumbrüche werden hier teilweise fehlerhaft dargestellt.

SPSS Stata
Mikrozensus 2012 - 2017 [.sps] [.do]