German Microdata Lab

  • You are here:
  • GML
  • Safe Room Mannheim

Dr. Heike Wirth

Dauerbeobachtung der Gesellschaft
Kommissarische Abteilungsleiterin

+49 (621) 1246-269 /-153
E-Mail
vCard

Safe Room GESIS Mannheim

GESIS is part of the International Data Access Network (IDAN) project which started in 2018. One node is the GESIS site in Mannheim, where a Safe Room is available for remote access to various confidential data.

IDAN project

The project is a collaboration between 6 Research Data Centres (RDCs) from France, Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom to facilitate controlled data access between these RDCs/countries. In its first phase IDAN aims to enable researchers to work remotely on secure access data provided by partner countries from within each Research Data Centre with all access points in the same physical place (RDC/ Safe Room). For more information on the project’s progress and availability of access points and data, please see the project website at https://idan.network/.

Available data

At present, guests in Mannheim can access data from the following IDAN project partners:

Planned

Data access

GESIS provides the room and parts of the technical infrastructure as part of the IDAN project. Data access is organised via the data providers. This table provides an overview of the respective accreditation process: https://idan.network/#accreditations 

Further information and contact

For questions regarding research visits at the Safe Room in Mannheim please email to idan-mannheim(at)gesis(dot)org. If you have any questions regarding the content of the data or accreditation, please contact the respective data provider. The contact details can be found at the end of the overview table at https://idan.network/#accreditations.

German Microdata Lab

  • Sie sind hier:
  • GML
  • Safe Room Mannheim

Dr. Heike Wirth

Dauerbeobachtung der Gesellschaft
German Microdata Lab
Teamleiterin

+49 (621) 1246-269
E-Mail
vCard

Safe Room GESIS Mannheim

GESIS ist Teil des 2018 entstandenen International Data Access Network (IDAN) Projekts. Ein Knotenpunkt ist der GESIS-Standort in Mannheim, wo ein Safe Room für den Remote-Zugang zu verschiedenen, schwach anonymisierten Daten zur Verfügung steht.

 

Das IDAN Projekt

Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen 6 Forschungsdatenzentren (RDCs) aus Frankreich, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und dem Vereinigten Königreich. Ziel ist es, die wissenschaftliche Nutzung von zugangsbeschränkten Daten zwischen den Ländern bzw. den Forschungsdatenzentren zu erleichtern. In der ersten Phase zielt IDAN darauf ab, Forschende in die Lage zu versetzen, per Fernzugriff mit zugangsbeschränkten Daten zu arbeiten. Hierfür bieten die Partner entsprechende Forschungsdatenzentren bzw. Safe Rooms an, die den Zugriff auf alle angebotenen Daten von jedem Zugangspunkt aus bieten sollen. Für weitere Informationen über den Projektfortschritt und die Verfügbarkeit von Daten und Zugangspunkten, sei auf die Projekt-Website verwiesen: https://idan.network/

 

Implementierte Datenzugänge

 

Welche weiteren Datenzugänge sind in Planung?

 

Datenzugang

GESIS stellt im Rahmen des IDAN-Projekts den Raum und Teile der technischen Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Der Datenzugang wird über die Datengeber organisiert. Einen Überblick über den jeweiligen Akkreditierungsprozess liefert diese Tabelle: https://idan.network/#accreditations 

 

Weitere Informationen und Ansprechpartner

Manual der Europäischen Kommission (Eurostat): „How to use microdata properly - Self-study material for the users of Eurostat microdata sets” [.pdf (657 kB)]

Fragen bzgl. Gastaufenthalten im Safe Room in Mannheim bitte per Mail an idan-mannheim(at)gesis(dot)org

Bei inhaltlichen Fragen zu den Daten oder zur Akkreditierung wenden Sie sich bitte an den jeweiligen Datengeber. Die Kontaktdaten finden sich am Ende der Übersichtstabelle auf idan.network